WorkStackReview is reader-supported. Some links on this site are affiliate links. Learn more
Teachable vs Podia: the fee flips this comparison at $333 a month

Teachable vs Podia: the fee flips this comparison at $333 a month

By Marcus Webb · Pricing verified on both vendor pages October 23, 2026 · Hands-on testing in progress — see note below

Both platforms sell courses, both take a cut at the entry tier, and both stop taking one in the middle. The difference is where the lines sit — and at current prices, Teachable's entry plan is cheaper only until your monthly sales pass about $333.

The two ladders

 Teachable StarterTeachable BuilderPodia MoverPodia Shaker
Price (annual billing)$39/mo · $468/yr$89/mo · $1,068/yr$42/mo · $504/yr$84/mo · $1,008/yr
Price (monthly billing)$59/mo$119/moNot capturedNot captured
Transaction fee7.5%0%5%0%
Products51050150
Email subscribersNot statedNot stated100500
Affiliate program—Yes—Yes
Free tier / trial7-day trial7-day trial14-day trial, no card14-day trial, no card

Teachable's current lineup is Starter / Builder / Growth — its plans were renamed and its free plan removed, which most published reviews have not caught up with. Podia's monthly-billed prices were not captured and are not estimated. Both vendors verified October 23, 2026.

The crossover, computed

Teachable Starter costs $59 a month on monthly billing plus 7.5% of sales. Podia Shaker costs $84 a month with no fee. Shaker is cheaper when:

$59 + 0.075X > $84, which is X > $333 a month in sales.

That is one $400 course a month, or four $85 courses. Below it, Teachable Starter is cheaper; above it, Podia Shaker wins on pure cost while giving you 150 product slots instead of 5.

At the top of the mid-market the comparison inverts again: Teachable Builder at $119 with no fee undercuts Podia Earthquaker at $150 with no fee, for 10 products instead of unlimited. So the honest shape of this comparison is: Teachable wins the bottom, Podia wins the middle, and which one wins the top depends on whether 10 product slots are enough.

The limits that decide it before the fee does

Where each one is the better buy

The thing both vendor pages agree on

Neither company publishes how its fee interacts with real checkout behaviour — refunds, chargebacks, payment-plan interest, taxes. Both advertise "global payments and taxes" as a feature; neither explains in the pricing table what happens when a sale is refunded after the platform fee has been taken. That is not a reason to avoid either, but it is a question to ask in the trial: process one refund and read the payout line.

What we cannot verify

All figures were read from both vendors' own pricing pages on October 23, 2026, in USD — Teachable's from its structured pricing data, Podia's from its yearly-billed view. Podia's monthly-billed prices were not captured. We have not run a course sale on either platform, so checkout conversion, fee application to upsells and payment plans, refund handling and email deliverability are all unverified. Teachable's subscriber caps are not published in the data we read and we have not estimated them. See How We Test, and for the fee arithmetic in isolation, Teachable pricing explained.