Kit vs Mailchimp: 10,000 free subscribers against 250
On the numbers that matter to a small list, this is not a comparison — it is a chasm. Kit's free plan carries 10,000 subscribers with unlimited sends. Mailchimp's free plan stops at 250 contacts and 500 emails a month. But the chasm exists because the two products are not the same product, and pretending otherwise is how people end up paying $240 a year for a newsletter.
Side by side
| Kit Free | Kit Creator | Mailchimp Free | Mailchimp Standard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $0 | $33/mo | $0 | $20/mo at 500 contacts |
| Contacts / subscribers | 10,000 | Not stated as a cap | 250 | 500 at this tier |
| Sends | Unlimited | Unlimited | 500/mo, max 250/day | 12× contacts |
| Automations | — | Yes | — | Yes |
| Seats | 1 | 1 | 1 | 5 |
| Remove branding | — | Yes | — | Yes |
The free-plan gap is the whole story for most small lists
A 500-subscriber newsletter costs $0 on Kit and $20 a month on Mailchimp Standard — $240 a year. At 2,000 subscribers the gap is wider, because Kit has not started charging yet and Mailchimp's contact tiers climb. We put the exact figures for one list size in what a 500-subscriber list actually costs.
The catches on Kit's free plan are real and specific: no automations, no sequences — one broadcast at a time — and Kit branding on your emails. If your workflow is "write, send, repeat", you lose nothing. If your workflow is a welcome sequence, the free plan is not usable, and the honest comparison becomes Kit Creator $33 against whatever Mailchimp charges you at your list size.
What the $240 buys on the Mailchimp side
Mailchimp Standard at 500 contacts includes automations and customer journeys, send scheduling, dynamic content, custom reports, three audiences, five seats, and the removal of Mailchimp branding. Kit's $33 tier covers most of the same list — its free plan already carries the 10,000 subscribers — so the real comparison at 500 contacts is $20 against $33, not $20 against $0.
That is the comparison Mailchimp can win: if you need automations, five seats, and multi-audience structure at a small list size, Mailchimp Standard is the cheaper way to have them. The $0 versus $240 framing only applies to the plain weekly newsletter, and there is nothing wrong with being that newsletter.
The structural differences that outlast the price
- Overage behaviour. Mailchimp bills overages automatically on paid plans and does not pause your sending. Kit's free plan simply carries 10,000. One grows your bill silently; the other grows nothing until you choose a tier.
- Who the tool is for. Kit is built around creators: subscriber tags, paid newsletter products, recommendation networks, and commerce integrations. Mailchimp is built around marketing: audiences, journeys, e-commerce sync, ads, a website builder. A creator on Mailchimp is paying for the second list; a small business on Kit is missing the second list.
- The exit. Both export contacts, but the deeper your automations and journeys, the more of your setup is unportable. Moving is a real cost either way — we sized it in moving from Mailchimp to Kit and, generally, in what switching tools actually costs.
Decision boundaries
- Plain newsletter, any size to 10,000: Kit Free. There is no version of this where Mailchimp's free plan — 250 contacts, no scheduling — is competitive.
- Automations needed, under 500 contacts: Mailchimp Standard at $20, or Kit Creator at $33. Price first, then pick by ecosystem.
- Automations needed, 500–10,000 contacts: Kit Creator. Mailchimp's contact-tier pricing scales with the list; Kit's does not, and past 1,000 contacts the gap stops being close.
- E-commerce store, abandoned carts, product retargeting: Mailchimp. This is its home ground and Kit does not pretend otherwise.
The seat-count angle deserves its own caution: Mailchimp Standard includes 5 seats, Kit Creator includes 1. A two-person team changes the arithmetic on both. That class of limit — the one the headline price hides — is collected in the seat minimums nobody budgets for.
What we cannot verify
Prices, contact caps and seat counts were read from both vendors' pricing pages on October 23, 2026, in USD. Mailchimp's Essentials and Premium prices render client-side after a contact tier is selected and were not captured; its 50%-off promotion is subject to terms we have not tested. Kit's paid-tier subscriber behaviour above the free 10,000 — where its own caps sit — is not stated in the material we read. We have not sent a campaign through either platform, so deliverability, recommendation-network behaviour and automation reliability are unverified. See How We Test.